• UberPeople.NET - Independent community of rideshare drivers. It's FREE to be a person and enjoy all the benefits of membership. JOIN US! CLICK HERE

Iowa auto insurance for UberX drivers?

Have you acknowledged driving for Uber to your personal auto insurance policy provider?

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

UberIowa15

A previous thread was created Aug. 31 about potential issues with insurance for Iowa UberX drivers. No one responded, so I thought I would ask a similar question. I'm a relatively new Uber driver (I started in Aug., so I didn't suffer the 30% fare decrease, and for now I'm only driving part-time after a layoff until I find more stable employment or contract work).

As UberX drivers in Iowa, are you confident that your personal insurance will cover you in an accident—even if it's not Uber-related? At least two passengers from the insurance industry insisted to me that if a driver mentions he or she is an Uber driver, every Iowa insurance company will cancel your policy. If you get into an accident, insurance companies will ask if you are or have ever driven for Uber. If yes, they will deny the claim. If no, and they find evidence to the contrary, you can be prosecuted for insurance fraud.

This article focuses on California, but the issues are similar in Iowa (apologies, since this is my first post, I cannot post links):

Uber maintains that isn’t a problem, because drivers’ personal insurance will cover the trolling period. The company’s website claims that “during the time that a ridesharing partner is available but between trips, most personal auto insurance will provide coverage.” In response to queries last week, Uber maintained that “when the app is on but no ride has been accepted, many personal policies provide coverage.”