Insurance

JMaxima

Should I get added insurance through my personal insurance company if I'm a part time driver? Thoughts?

Kaal

Yes you should get rideshare endorsement from your provider. If you don't have it, and get into a fender bender -with or without pax- and your insurance finds out, they will drop you.

They'll also drop you if they don't happen to offer a ride share endorsement and you tell them you've been driving Uber... not all ins cos offer it.

JMaxima

• Thread Starter Thread Starter
I just found out that my current insurance company does not offer a rideshare endorsement in MN. They referred me to Progressive and the new monthly fee went up $85 a month! For a part time (5 hr a week) driver I don't see that to be worth it. Could anyone let me know of a more reasonable insurance company I can check on that does the rideshare endorsement in MN?

Mpls55345

I probably should take this more serious than I do. Anyone know how GEICO deals with this? If they offer? Obviously do not want to call with my number.

Tdizzle22

i had progressive and they have it now..a few years ago they made you get commercial insurance..i got rear ended with pax in the car and progressive didnt do anything..they saw my uber stickers and asked if i drive..said yes and i had a pax with me...they said ok..well lets you get quotes on commerical..they never sent me quotes..and they fixed my car still.

JMaxima

• Thread Starter Thread Starter
I have progressive and mine only went up 15 dollars a month. Do you drive a Bentley?
Ha no. I just called Progressive myself and the rates were much more reasonable than what my current Insurance Company told me they would be. Glad I verified it straight from the source.

Kaal

Geico wants to sell you their "hybrid" which isn't really one. It's a commercial policy that will cover your personal use.

AlexCom

Progressive only extends your auto coverage to period 1