I need advice from experienced Yellow and Green Cab driver

Inshur

William27

I am very new to Green Boro Taxi business and I was looking to see if I could afford one, I came across this post online ""Green Cab for sale with permit, Verifone metered,with plates. Toyota Camry 2012 SE, Leather seats,sun roof, Brand new tires (4) Just passed Inspection, with camera, Nice clean car, Ready to go!! Thank you "" , Price is $15,000, As You can see, according to this posted ads, For $15,000, I could get Green Taxi, with permit plus I will also get the TLC plate. Problem is as far as I understand, You are not allowed to transfer TLC plate but this post says otherwise. Can someone please enlighten me?

Dst Rain

Dude if ur thinking crazy stuffs like buying a green cab with permit plates then change the car to FHV cause green cab plates looks the same as FHV. Ones u buy the other guys permit he returns his plates. And u go to TLC DMV get ur own plates for the green cab with permit in hand. Like the other person said green cab got it much worse. You will be sitting around train station and malls.

Hackenstein

Getting a green cab at this point is suicide, you limit yourself from the biggest hail zones in the city... and are forced to work the less desirable zones, it isn't a good investment and its why the city has lost so many green cabs.

View attachment 347339
Notice how quickly Green Taxis were tossed under the bus for Uber. They sold a fraction of the proposed Medallions.

Bloomberg did an end run around the City Council to create Greens, which were already a shot at crushing Yellows (which were supposed to have exclusive street hail rights in all of NYC), and Uber took notice. Mike and his buddies ran up to Albany and did an end run around the City Council to let Uber in. He was an investor in Lyft from day one. His TLC Comissioner Yassky went straight to Lyft. His policy guy Chhabra who did the most legwork to get Uber in, went straight to Uber.

Dst Rain