I got hailed

bimmy5678

Last night in Hollywood, I was stopped at a light and somebody waved his arms at me. Him and his wife wanted a short ride home but their phone was dead. I told them they have to use the app. He said he lives less than 5 minutes away, so I gave them a ride home. He gave me $12 cash, which is much more than the $2.80 I would have gotten from Uber. I know this is not "allowed," but I'm sure it happens to a lot of drivers. Just wondering what y'all do in this situation.

LA Cabbie

You got super lucky it was not a sting. Otherwise your car would have been impounded and you would have been arrested. I'm not a lawyer. If this was a potential sting, this is what you should have said. "I'll take you where you want to go at no cost as a good samaritan. If you want to chip in for gas, that's up to you." Since you obviously don't have a taxi permit, once you negotiate payment, you get arrested.

Another Uber Driver

just be aware of stings run by L.A.P.D. that area is known for stings.
You got super lucky it was not a sting. Otherwise your car would have been impounded and you would have been arrested.
I was going to post ^^^^^^^^^^^^ "THESE"^^^^^^^^^^^, but I see that you got the idea. \/ \/ \/ \/ \/ \/ \/

Oooh, thanks. Had no idea.

Now you know. Stop destroying your livelihood & being a good Samaritan.
^^^^^^^^^^^THIS^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

What you tell them is "I do apologise, Sir, but the law does not allow that and the penalty is quite severe. It is too bad that your telephone is discharged, but I can not risk it and there is no insurance coverage if I do this."

You may be carrying a policy that allows for you to carry passengers for compensation, but, the illegal act exclusion could kick in if you are involved in a collision, as it is illegal for you to accept street hails.

Further, if Uber finds out that you are accepting street hails, it will de-activate you no questions asked. How could it find out?