1. UberPeople.NET - Independent community of rideshare drivers. It's FREE to be a person and enjoy all the benefits of membership. JOIN US! CLICK HERE

Human Trafficking -- what to do?

Discussion in 'Advice' started by JimKE, Nov 4, 2018.

By JimKE on Nov 4, 2018 at 8:49 AM
  1. JimKE

JimKE

One of our Miami drivers had what really sounds like a human trafficking situation this weekend. Because they know I'm a retired police officer, they told me about their situation and asked for some advice -- which I provided privately.

Our driver was primarily concerned about the safety of the woman involved, and whether they had "done the right thing," which of course they did. But there is another aspect of the whole mess that they didn't really consider that led me to start this thread.

DRIVER SAFETY
    If you get dragged into a human trafficker situation, you are possibly dealing directly with the trafficker themselves...and they are not nice people. They are organized crime types, and if you get in their way, you could put yourself at risk.

So your FIRST, and overriding, consideration MUST be your own personal safety.

In this particular situation, there were two points during the ride when the pax (bad guy, maybe; maybe just a john) got out of the car and the woman pleaded for help. However, the woman did not want the police involved for whatever reason. The second time, our driver drove off and dropped the woman at a safe location. Unfortunately, the pax had left his phone in the driver's car. Our driver called Uber right away and explained the situation to them.

So what to do now?

My advice was to take the cell phone to the police station, explain the circumstances, and request that they write a report and impound the phone as evidence. I also advised the driver to cooperate fully with the police, rather than trying to cover for the woman. Her problem is her problem, and I don't want him to make it his problem.

Where are the risks in that situation?