How is everyone paying GST? Accountant? Nixer?

What is the best option to pay GST?

• An accountant

Votes: 3 42.9%
  • Nixer

Votes: 1 14.3%
  • DriveTax

Votes: 2 28.6%
  • H&R Block

Votes: 1 14.3%

• Total voters

Alfie

Hi,

I am a new Uber driver and I wanted to know how everyone is paying GST? Who should I go to?

An accountant? Nixer? DriveTax?

Help!!!

Happy to help Alfie! I'm Jess, I'm a CPA and Registered Tax Agent. We look after GST Registrations and BAS's for over 200 Uber drivers across Australia, so if you need a hand feel free to get in touch. There's plenty of tax information on our website, including a complete guide to meeting your ATO obligations, so feel free to Google us and check it out. All the best with your Uber driving!

Damo66

I just prepare my own BAS statements. Am I missing something? But it seems pretty straightforward to me. I record all my uber and vehicle related expenses, calculate the percentage of input credits I can claim based on my log book business usage, and it's pretty much done.

Shabadu

Any suggestions or links to register for GST. Seem to be struggling to get this done. All help would be appreciated.

MrMickeyG

the stupid rules on this forum are preventing me from posting the ATO link until someone has 'liked' one of my posts - how stupid is that!?

anyway if you click the like button i can post the link for you.

Driver Zero

Once you have an ABN, just call the ATO and ask to register for GST. They ask a couple of questions and a week later it's done. That's what I did.

MyRedUber

When you register your ABN and GST, ask them to backdate it to when you started driving for Uber or August 2015 if you started before that date.
You will be liable for GST on any fares collected after August 2015, but you can only claim GST credit on business-related purchases from the date your GST registration starts.