• UberPeople.NET - Independent community of rideshare drivers. It's FREE to be a person and enjoy all the benefits of membership. JOIN US! CLICK HERE

How has Uber changed your life?

Ian Reid

Hi everyone,

I'm a filmmaker in Washington DC. My company (Distant Moon Media) and I are working with George Mason University on the pilot episode of a documentary web series about new technologies and their impact on society. The pilot episode is about "Ride sharing" technologies like Uber and Lyft and we're looking for stories (good or bad, but preferably inspirational, funny, or exciting) about how becoming an Uber/Lyft driver has changed your life.

If you're interested in having your story featured in this show, please share your story here and we'll contact you! Or if you prefer to be more private with your story, please consider PMing me and we can chat there!

Thanks so much! Looking forward to meeting you all and hearing your stories!
-Ian Reid

p.s. - If this isn't the right thread to post this sort of thing, my apologies. Please feel free to move it wherever is more appropriate!

ATX 22

You won't find many inspirational driver stories from anyone who has endured multiple rate cuts, had their account deactivated due to poor customer ratings, (which is totally random and based on the mood of the passenger), had their pay taken from their account for work completed because of a bogus passenger complaint, shorted on "guarantees" because Uber says their myriad of terms weren't met, and when one asks Uber to provide proof, none is supplied. Drivers who have been cursed at, cars thrown up in, vandalized and generally treated with less and less respect as rates continue to be depressed.