How far do you drive to start working?

UberDataGeek

Howdy folks. I just started driving with Uber about a month ago. I usually drive a few hours after work 2-3 days per week, with Fridays being my big day. Home is out of the Nashville market, but my day job is in Franklin, so I can usually get a ride pretty quick after leaving work. A typical day will have a ride or two in Franklin, then a ride will eventually take me into Nashville with either an airport ride or a downtown trip.

I haven't driven any weekends yet. My question is this: do most drivers have to drive to a market area before they can start getting rides? If so, how far? And to add to that, is it worth it to drive from my home in Dickson to Nashville on a Saturday for rides? The earliest I'd likely get a ride is Bellevue, which is about 40 miles for me. If it's worth doing, when would be the optimal time to head into Nashville?

Thanks.

RynoHawk

It depends what’s going on. On a Saturday, you can maybe head out about 6 or 7 and catch people heading into town for dinner, bars, etc. maybe 4 or 5 if there’s a hockey game.

UberDataGeek

• Thread Starter Thread Starter
I was specifically thinking about this weekend. I wonder with St Paddy's Day being on Sunday if there will be a lot of stuff going on Saturday that would make it worth my while to come into town to drive. Strategy tips are appreciated.

Howdy folks. I just started driving with Uber about a month ago. I usually drive a few hours after work 2-3 days per week, with Fridays being my big day. Home is out of the Nashville market, but my day job is in Franklin, so I can usually get a ride pretty quick after leaving work. A typical day will have a ride or two in Franklin, then a ride will eventually take me into Nashville with either an airport ride or a downtown trip.