1. UberPeople.NET - Independent community of rideshare drivers. It's FREE to be a person and enjoy all the benefits of membership. Sign-up HERE!

How Are You Tracking Miles for Taxes??

Discussion in 'Taxes' started by skytessa, Dec 12, 2016.

1. skytessa

skytessa New Member

Okay, I'm new to the Uber thing, but I've done a lot of reading on how to keep my financial ducks in a row. I've tried MileIQ and honestly, it sucks. I've noticed it has completely wrong paths driven for my log. I did a comparison one day with my odometer and it was waaaaay off. Like 10 miles off on a day I drove 105. I'm guessing it's cuz it doesn't use GPS to track?

I was considering buying an actual device that you plug in the car, but I wanted to check here to see if y'all had suggestions. The Mileage Ace is my top consideration since they dropped their price. Anyone use it? Thoughts?

UberTaxPro and tohunt4me like this.
  2. UberTaxPro

UberTaxPro Well-Known Member

Driving:
    UberX
    Why spend money? All you need is a few pens and this:

[​IMG]

3. LAuberX

LAuberX Moderator Moderator

Driving:
    UberX
    paper and pen. write down starting and ending odometer readings with the date.

keep forever, or at least 7 years.

simple.

Woodbury77, play2008 and UberTaxPro like this.
  4. UberTaxPro

Driving:
    UberX
    As a rule you need to keep your records until the statute of limitations runs out for filing returns or filing for refunds. For most taxpayers that means three years. Unless you under report your income by more than 25% shown on your return. In that case you need to keep the records for six years. If you file a fraudulent return or no return at all you'll need to keep your records forever.

5. skytessa

skytessa New Member

Lol. Tried the paper thing. I always forget and just had to fudge my numbers in the past. I'm better off with something automatic. Anyone here use a device to track? That was my original question.

6. Danny3xd

Danny3xd Well-Known Member