• UberPeople.NET - Independent community of rideshare drivers. It's FREE to be a person and enjoy all the benefits of membership. JOIN US! CLICK HERE

Hi From The Gold Coast, in sunny Queensland, Australia

mrcoolaus

Hi,
I am an existing Uber driver operating on the Gold Coast and sometime also in Brisbane, QLD, Australia.
I usually drive Friday & Saturday nights plus take a few extra trips during weekdays (after a year I have done 2,000+ trips so I consider myself an experienced Uber driver) :smiles:

Instyle

Really curious to hear your take on earnings/profit over the year. Insight from the year good and the bad.

mrcoolaus

• Thread Starter Thread Starter
A bit of info as requested:

Total km driven - while doing the 2,000+ trips on the Uber platform - in the financial year 2014-2015 km 34,197 - GROSS pay $35,015 (average $1.02/km or an average GROSS pay of $814 per week for the 43 weeks I did do Uber) minus EXTRA operational costs of $8,642 for using the vehicle to do Uber giving a NET pay of $26,373 (or an average of NET pay of $613 per week. Driving approx. 4 hours during week days and 20 hours during Friday & Saturday nights giving an hourly labor rate of approx. $26/hour).
In comparison in this financial year 2015-2016 I have now done 5 normal driving weeks producing an average GROSS pay of $752 per week (indicating that the GST component is "eating" into my pay) reducing the hourly labor rate to approx. $24/hour. Please note that 5 weeks is NOT providing good basis for stats compared to 43 weeks, but I still find the net pay an attractive hourly rate.
My EXTRA operational cost does NOT include depreciation costs (since it is a car I bought cheap); the car is paid cash so no interest to be paid - you might need to include such costs.