GA DOL

goobered

GA DOL finally got in touch with me, out of the blue, almost 2 months after I filed my claim. I was totally caught off guard and unprepared for this harried, abrupt conversation. It went a little something like this.

DOL: Did a doctor tell you to stop working?
Me: No.
DOL: When do you think you will go back to working for Uber?
Me: I don't know. I don't feel safe doing that right now due to my lung issues.
DOL: How long have you had those conditions?
Me: I was diagnosed 2.5 years ago.
DOL: Did you inform Uber that you stopped working?
Me: Yes (????)
DOL: Did Uber send a notice out to their employees stating what the process is for stopping work or returning to work?
Me: Um, I'm not an employee. I'm an independent contractor.
DOL: I understand that, but you work for them. Who pays you?
Me: Uber.
DOL: Did Uber send you something saying when you can return to work?
Me: (???) No, I'm an independent contractor so I can either work or not work.
DOL: Okay I'm going to have to reach out to Uber for that information. I will need you to send me your last pay stub from them. I'm not even sure if your earnings will be enough to qualify.

The call ended abrubtly shortly after that. No request was made for pay statements from Doordash or Grubhub, even though I also worked for them during the same period. But I sent those too, along with the disclaimer that none of my earnings from the last week I worked represented my usual or average earnings, since business was way down.

I don't have a good feeling about this.

Invisible

That’s messed up. Did you apply under the PUA and not regular unemployment?

You should be able to prove to unemployment it is not safe to be in an enclosed space wi a stranger (see link below). And you can’t social distance in your car.

I’m still waiting to hear from unemployment as are many in my state. Yet I’ve heard other drivers in various states getting PUA. Good luck!

goobered

• Thread Starter Thread Starter