1. UberPeople.NET - Independent community of rideshare drivers. It's FREE to be a person and enjoy all the benefits of membership. JOIN US! CLICK HERE

Female drivers

Discussion in 'Advice' started by simply00complex, Sep 5, 2015.

1. simply00complex

simply00complex

Driving:
    UberX
    I searched for a thread and I'm surprised it doesn't exist. I figured we women should have our own thread.

So how many other female drivers are there and how do you handle the issues you face being a female driver?

For me, everyone is asking me if I feel safe doing this? Quite frankly, I respond with, "if I didn't feel safe doing this, I wouldn't be doing this." But I also feel that as a woman, we are raised to be on high alert all our lives. From a young age, our mothers teach us that we need to protect ourselves because we weak women and any big strong man is out to get us. So I carry pepper spray and I know basic self-defense moves. I also work as a manager in a restaurant and any night during one of my closing shifts, someone can come in wielding a gun demanding all the money. I actually feel safer doing Uber because everyone is tracked and logged. If a man were a predator, he'd be very stupid to target his Uber driver.

My roommate worries on the level of a mother and wants me to carry a taser and learn Krav Magaw from our friend, Jake, whereas my mother is happy I'm driving for Uber and making extra cash.

Also, what do you wear? I've read a dress code thread somewhere stating that Uber prefers men to wear a collared shirt and slacks, but I've never seen anything for women. I just wear nice jeans with no tears and a nice blouse. And upon my roommate's request, I don't wear skirts or anything easily rapeable, to be blunt about it.

I also keep my purse in the trunk.