• UberPeople.NET - Independent community of rideshare drivers. It's FREE to be a person and enjoy all the benefits of membership. JOIN US! CLICK HERE

EMT moving to Seattle March 1. Approved for xchange leasing. Questions about getting started!

wambulance

-------------------------------------------TLDR; how hard is it (how many hours monthly) to pay off a Prius C leased through uber xchange in Seattle working part time? And am I likely to make any money on top of this?
-------------------------------------------

Hello,

I am an EMT who is moving to Seattle March 1 to take a new job running 911 calls in Seattle. Since I will be making barely over minimum wage and need a car to commute to and from work, I signed up for uber xchange on a whim to see if they would offer me a lease on a new car. Surprise, got approved for up to 20,000 yesterday! I have searched the forums here for answers, but I still have a lot of questions about how to get started and I am hoping that I can learn from all of your experience.

1. I understand that xchange may not be a good deal for everyone. But for a person in my position, it looks like it could be a good option: I have poor credit due to medical loans, don't have the capital to make a large down payment on a car myself, can't afford costly monthly leases (surprise - EMTs make barely over minimum wage to respond to emergencies all day/night) and need a car as soon as I move there to commute to and from work. My grandfather died last year and left behind a 2007 Camry in New Jersey for me, but I don't know if it would be more expensive to get it brought out here and then pay maintenance and gas on a 2007 car. I'm assuming it would cost a lost more than $250 to have it brought to Seattle before I start!

2. I like the Prius C a lot! Is the 20k they offer enough to score one? I know they start around 19k but the dealers near Seattle seem to start them at 21k.

3. Is the Prius C a good choice for uber xchange?