1. UberPeople.NET - Independent community of rideshare drivers. It's FREE to be a person and enjoy all the benefits of membership. Sign-up HERE!

Do I have to buy a fastrak?

Discussion in 'Advice' started by Rickyraws, Apr 16, 2018.

1. Rickyraws

Rickyraws Member

I drove with lyft but someone hit my car so I’m now an Uber driver. I rented a vehicle with Uber and unlike lyft’s rental, this vehicle didn’t come with a fastrak thing by default. I don’t know how tolls work with Uber: do I pay out of pocket then email them my reciept to be reimbursed, or is there some way to register this car to be charged but for Uber to be charged instead so they take it out of my earnings? How do tolls work? Please, any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

2. SuzeCB

SuzeCB Well-Known Member

Driving:
    UberX
    What's a fastrak? Is that like EZPass?

unPat likes this.
  3. Rickyraws

Rickyraws Member

Yes. It’s for tolls

4. SuzeCB

SuzeCB Well-Known Member

Driving:
    UberX
    I know they're strongly recommended. Uber keeps track (although not 100% accurately) of tolls you go through with pax in the car. You'll have to fight with them about tolls to get to the pickup. They'll charge the pax, and you'll get it when you get your pay. Check your ride details.

You're also going to want to keep track of the tolls for yourself and your taxes. It's much easier to do if you're just have an account like E-Z Pass, or I guess Fast Track.

1974toyota likes this.
  5. Uber Crack

Uber Crack Well-Known Member

Driving:
    UberX
    Definitely get a fast track
    Otherwise you're going to sit in traffic for the cash lane - that makes no sense @ 10¢ or Lord knows what it is, per minute. Also Pax will catch attitude about it. Fast track lanes are so much faster and also yes - its a good record of your toll charges.

unPat, dnlbaboof and 1974toyota like this.
  6. DrivingForYou

DrivingForYou Well-Known Member

Driving:
    Lyft