1. UberPeople.NET - Independent community of rideshare drivers. It's FREE to be a person and enjoy all the benefits of membership. JOIN US! CLICK HERE

Customers wanted stop along way...and turns into extneded time.

Discussion in 'Advice' started by GSPdriver53, Mar 8, 2018.

1. GSPdriver53

GSPdriver53

Driving:
    UberX
    I am a fairly new driver and have had some instances where a rider wanted me to wait for a few minutes and it turns into a long time...last night I picked up a guy and he was going to surprise his girlfriend getting off work. We got there at 8:40 and he said she got off at 8:45, so no big deal. Time passed and at 9pm he finally got ahold of her and she had already gone home and they had a 10 minute conversation figuring out what they were going to do. Then I had to drive him home...I sat for 30 minutes with him in my car not moving and the total ride lasted 50 minutes -- I got $11 for the ride and could have easily doubled that even on a fairly slow night. I had another ride that a woman needed to run in the grocery store for "real quick" and it turned into 25 minutes. I have no problem if someone wants to run into a store on the way home, but these extended waits kill earnings.

My question is whether there is what is the correct protocol here? Once someone gets in my car, do I have to do whatever they want until they want to be dropped off? How do I handle this?

Wiseleo likes this.
  2. Pawtism

Pawtism Moderator

Most of us follow a 5 minute rule. If whatever they are waiting for hasn't happened within 5 minutes, we'll end ride, and they can reorder whenever it does happen for them. It's not to be mean or anything but as you said, you could have made a lot more if you were driving instead of sitting.