Costs

Toyota Guy

I see many posts on Facebook and the Uberpeople page with screenshots of how much somebody made in a week or a night. I’m always impressed by these, but I wonder about the rest of the story.

Income is only half the story. Costs are every bit as important. I’ve been driving part-time now for two months and I believe that I have a reasonable understanding of what’s involved. This is about what happens over time, not about making that big car payment next week.

First of all, if you’re doing this part-time, you already have a car. You didn’t go out to buy one just to work part time as a rideshare driver. That means that you’re already paying for licensing, inspections, insurance, etc. When you figure the costs of driving part time, you only count the extra money you spend.

If you pay additional insurance, add that to your costs. Otherwise, the only extra costs you incur are for the gas necessary to drive, depreciation due to the miles you put on the car, and additional maintenance necessary with the extra miles driven. Cost/mile is crux.

Here’s an example from my experience. I’ve made several assumptions which may or may not prove accurate. I drive a 2009 Pontiac Vibe (a rebadged Toyota Matrix) with the 2.4 L engine.

Gas mile averages 26 mpg doing rideshare. At $2.40/gallon, cost/mile is $.09/mile.

Maintenance costs are a little tougher to figure out, but they are predictable. An Oil Change and Tire Rotation every 5,000 miles runs $50.00, $.01/mi. Tires cost $500 every 50,000 miles, another $.01/mile. Major service every 30,000 adds $250, roughly .01/miles. Repair costs on a Toyota are comparatively low. For the next 100,000 miles (I have 105,000 now), I anticipate .03/mile. So total maintenance and repair-- .06/mile.