Compulsory Driver Accreditation? Can we discuss this?

Are we shafted?

• Ye

Votes: 3 60.0%
  • Maybe

Votes: 2 40.0%

• Total voters

Chirsg

"As part of the Victorian Government's new rideshare regulations, every Uber Driver Partner will need to have a Driver Accreditation (DA), a special form of license issued by the Taxi Services Commission (TSC) for ridesharing drivers."

I'm no professional and I am in fact not learned in this field, but from what I gather, we're getting shafted hard. Can someone explain to me how we are getting shafted, because I personally have no idea what this means.

weekendnightdriver

If you have had victorian full license for more than 6 months and don’t have history of child sex abuse, you will get it in 3 weeks.

Uber may pay $76 + $100 for application and medical check up. Or you pay for it, which is tax deductible.

What’s the problem here?

Chirsg

If you have had victorian full license for more than 6 months and don’t have history of child sex abuse, you will get it in 3 weeks.

Uber may pay $76 + $100 for application and medical check up. Or you pay for it, which is tax deductible.

What’s the problem here?
I've read that taxi DA's cost thousands.

Also, from this moment, Am I not able to work until I get a DA?

Solarman

from what I gather, we're getting shafted hard. Can someone explain to me how we are getting shafted, because I personally have no idea what this means.
We aren't getting shafted. It's part and parcel of being a ride share driver. It's the law. My DA medical was $0.00. Only the application fee of $73.00 was paid and it's a tax deduction, so no big deal.

Chirsg

Am I not able to work until I get a DA?

Also, $173? That sounds too good to be true. What is this business about taxi drivers having to pay $20000?

Wesky

Something unrelated.

DA will set you back $74 plus whatever the Doc charges you for the medical. I've heard some do it for 0 and mine charged $120.

No more to pay.