1. UberPeople.NET - Independent community of rideshare drivers. It's FREE to be a person and enjoy all the benefits of membership. JOIN US! CLICK HERE

Chevy Bolt

Discussion in 'Vehicles' started by clayinaustin, Jul 11, 2018.

1. clayinaustin

clayinaustin

Driving:
    UberX
    I have been an Uber driver for a whole two months, and I have been driving my 2017 Chevy Silverado. While I love my truck, it only gets 16 MPG. So I am considering buying a 2018 Chevy Bolt and using it exclusively as my Uber vehicle. The Chevy Bolt will go 238 miles on a single full charge. And since I only drive for Uber as a side hustle on week nights and weekends, I think I can stay under the 238 range limit.

Does anyone on the forum drive a Chevy Bolt? Or any other EV (not hybrid) vehicle?

Thanks!

Clay

2. cumonohito

cumonohito

Driving:
    UberX
    16MPG is bad. You've only been at this for 2 months and now are thinking on buying a new car? This is where I will suggest to you if you foresee yourself doing this on the long run. First, how will you pay for your car, that's about 35k, you uber as a side hustle on week nights, that means that you will be driving in order to pay off your monthly car payment, does not make sense to me. Best to look at a certified/warranted used car, 2014-2017 that will be in the 20k or less, that gives good MPG. What are you going to do with your Silverado? The idea for us drivers on working uber/lyft is to make money on the side, not to work to pay for our car, if that's the case, might as well give up. Just my .02

3. clayinaustin

clayinaustin

Driving:
    UberX
    Yes 16MPG is pretty bad, but that's what you get with a V8 pickup truck. I love my truck, so I plan to keep it. :D