• UberPeople.NET - Independent community of rideshare drivers. It's FREE to be a person and enjoy all the benefits of membership. JOIN US! CLICK HERE

Has Uber always been honest in their driver recruitment advertising?

• Total voters

Modern-Day-Slavery

Uber love to give the public the impression that their drivers are small business owners or 'micro-entrepreneurs'. source

I received some abuse on this forum for complaining about the rates that Uber set. People would say "Nobody is forcing you to drive for Uber". - This I could not argue. Others would say "Be more strategic about which trips you accept....only accept when there is surge pricing".

Being the small business owner that I am, I decided that I wanted to start making a profit instead of losing money on each trip.

So this week decided to take on this advice and only accepted trips that were nearby OR surging more than 2x. As an independent business owner I assumed I could make a financial decision based on the pick up the location of each request. Basically, I would not drive out of my way for a fare that is normal rate - I know my long-term operating expenses and it simply isn't worth the depreciation to my vehicle.

You can imagine my surprise then, when Uber temporarily deactivated my account for not accepting enough trips. So they are forcing me to accept trips where I lose money?

I signed up under the impression I could work when I want and accept which jobs I want. So my question is this: Can I launch a class action against Uber for false advertising?

Coachman

I signed up under the impression I could work when I want and accept which jobs I want. So my question is this: Can I launch a class action against Uber for false advertising?
When or where did Uber ever advertise that you could turn down as many pings or cancel as many jobs you want?

joffie

Sucks sitting in the middle of a surge, then you get a job 10 minutes away (turns into 13 minutes) out of the surge zone.