Car recommendations

AlphaJ

Hi, I'm new to the city and have been job hunting for a while. I figured in the mean time I should start driving uber to keep things moving.

I've been advised to buy an used car 2009 and newer for as low as 5k to make this gig work. However, I don't know a lot about cars and their working which is why I would like to ask Y'all experienced folks as to how to go about the car purchase or should I just rent a car to begin ?
I realize lot of you here are not happy with the conditions around Uber but at this moment this is all I can do I think.. So please give your best suggestions

Thanks

Last edited:

Classified

Don’t rent, it will cost more,

And it doesn’t matter what you buy,
You won’t get rich doing Uber,

If you buy a car, the first thing you need to look at is, it needs to be cheap to drive, one of your biggest expense is petrol,

And a lot of cities have a 10years max age for car, so once it’s 10years old you cannot use it, so that 2009 car cannot be used, next year 2010 can’t be used and so on,

phreeradical

Hi, I'm new to the city and have been job hunting for a while. I figured in the mean time I should start driving uber to keep things moving.

I've been advised to buy an used car 2009 and newer for as low as 5k to make this gig work. However, I don't know a lot about cars and their working which is why I would like to ask Y'all experienced folks as to how to go about the car purchase or should I just rent a car to begin ?
I realize lot of you here are not happy with the conditions around Uber but at this moment this is all I can do I think.. So please give your best suggestions

Thanks
I recommend a bicycle

Underground

Well you got the active members attention. Now you need to do more research. Uber/Lyft website has enough information required to sign up.

As for your question, renting not a good idea. You could finance but then again this is not a good first job option. Too risky and unpredictable.