ask me anything: rebuilding your credit

got a p

i have been rebuilding my credit for several years now. when i started it was pretty horrible - had several chargeoffs/collections from around 2013 which gave me a very low credit score. i started in 2017 by getting a secured credit card from capital one. then got 2 of my 4 bad items on my report deleted, unfortunately the other two wouldn't agree to delete them so i decided to just let them fall off which takes 7 years. i had tried more than once too, they just said they would report it as paid off but unfortunately, due to the way the system works, this actually hurts you more than it helps. this is because if you pay off the account and they don't delete it, it stays on your report for 7 more years from the date you paid it. so the choice was keep them on as paid until 2024-25 or let them drop off in 2020-21. i'm pretty excited now because since opening that initial secured capital one card with a $500 limit, i now have 5 credit cards with total limits across the board of over $18,000 and my two charge offs will be dropping off in december and the other in january. as far as credit cards i am set for now. i have a balance on one of them for $5,000 and i plan to pay that down over the next 1/2 year or so. there is really only one more thing for me to do, which is a pretty neat trick for a nice score bump, which is to open a loan secured against $2,000 of my own money. this one is pretty neat and not many banks do it anymore so i found a credit union that does. basically you get a loan for $2,000 and they take your $2,000. then in the first week (next day if you like) you pay off say $1,900 of it and they give you $1,900 back and you remaining balance on the loan is $100 which wont be due until almost two years. you pay $2 or so a month toward it, keeping it open and your score gets a 15 or so point boost.