1. UberPeople.NET - Independent community of rideshare drivers. It's FREE to be a person and enjoy all the benefits of membership. Sign-up HERE!

Arrested for Domestic Battery Charges were dropped. WIll uber fire me?

Discussion in 'Advice' started by MAB, Jun 13, 2018 at 7:44 AM.

Tags:
  1. MAB

MAB New Member

Driving:
    UberX
    Hello Fellow drivers,

I DRIVE IN CHICAGO, IL.

I have been a driver for 5 months now, with over 375 rides, 4.9 ratings.

I have been driving uber since Dec 2017, which is when my first background check was run and I passed.

In February of 2018, my annual check was ran and passed.

Unfortunately in March of 2018, i was ARRESTED with domestic battery and CHARGES HAVE BEEN DROPPED.

CHARGES WERE COMPLETEY DROPPED.

I hired a lawyer, and we are in the process OF EXPUNGMENT. THIS STARTED IN APRIL 2018.

Im not sure if my expungment (record cleared) will be done before ubers annual or 6 month BACKGROUND CHECK.

When checkr runs my annual check it will read as this to UBER.
    DOMESTIC BATTERY - PHYSICAL CONTACT
    Charge Type MISDEMEANOR
    Disposition STRICKEN OFF LEAVE

stricken off Leave---- They dont put dismissed on there records in Illinois.

My main questions are

1. DO you think Uber will deactivate me, if they run my 6 month check and see this ARREST on my record?

2. DOES UBER DEACTIVATE PEOPLE EVEN IF THEY WERE ARRESTED, AND THE CHARGES WERE DROPPED IN COURT?

Please help.

thanks

2. Irishjohn831

Irishjohn831 Well-Known Member

I think by February when your next background check probably occurs it will be expunged and not an issue.

If something was dismissed i think it would be off your record.

3. MAB

MAB New Member

Driving:
    UberX

I'm hoping so, the lawyer was 99 percent confident. however in life you never know.

The reality is even if charges are dismissed they don't clear from your background check.

I tested it out. I applied for Grubhub in april, which uses the same background company... ( checkr) and