Anybody Drive Downtown Last Night?

Big John

I am a new driver, but it seemed like there were an abundance of uber/lyft drivers on the road last night. I headed downtown because I was under the impression that the road closures weren't taking effect until tomorrow. My first ping was 5 minutes away, then I hit traffic restriction and I got stuck in the fatal funnel going around public square. I called my pax after twenty minutes and told them they may be better off trying to find somebody closer. It took a total of 35 minutes before I got near the intersection where the pickup was located.

Next I headed over to W25th, after about 20 minutes I pulled up my rider app and saw six other drivers in my immediate area, every time I would move the pin down the street there were more and more cars waiting. Is that typical for a Friday night, or is that probably just drivers trying to cash in on the RNC?

I only caught one surge fare at 1.5 at closing time. I ride with uber on a regular basis and the lowest I usually see at 2am is 2x-3x. I didn't expect to make a ton of money, but I only made out with about $40 for 3 hours of driving. I know I'm not going to get rich, I'm just looking for some insight from the drivers who have been around a while.

I'm debating on giving downtown another go tonight, or I might try my luck in the Stow/Kent area.

Cheers.

Reactions: TRW

RightTurnTony

I am a new driver, but it seemed like there were an abundance of uber/lyft drivers on the road last night. I headed downtown because I was under the impression that the road closures weren't taking effect until tomorrow. My first ping was 5 minutes away, then I hit traffic restriction and I got stuck in the fatal funnel going around public square. I called my pax after twenty minutes and told them they may be better off trying to find somebody closer. It took a total of 35 minutes before I got near the intersection where the pickup was located.