Maven

Well-Known Member
Start by reading https://uberpeople.net/threads/advice-for-new-drivers.99316/ and
https://uberpeople.net/threads/beginners-advice-⭐-⭐-⭐-⭐-⭐.149152/

New York State specific information

Rates, UberEats, Surcharges, Surges, Boosts, and Promotions

See https://uberpeople.net/threads/comparitive-nys-rates-with-surrounding-areas.205929/
and https://uberpeople.net/threads/best-places-times-to-drive-find-surges.206550/

Insurance

Don't even think about driving until you've purchased an insurance policy that covers commercial driving. Read about that at https://uberpeople.net/threads/insurance-for-ridesharing-drivers.205821/. Most personal insurance companies are going to drop you if they learn you're ridesharing, even part-time. And the Uber contingent liability policy has a $1,000 deductible ($2,500 for Lyft) before (and/or if) they cover your medical claim or your property claim in the event you are involved in an at-fault accident.

Mandatory Decals (Trade Dress)

See https://uberpeople.net/threads/manditory-decals-in-nys.206606/

Legislation and Regulations

One of the first things you should know are the laws and regulations that regulate Uber and Lyft in this state. You can read it here: https://www.nysenate.gov/legislation/bills/2017/S4159, but it may be more useful to review the DMV regulations https://dmv.ny.gov/more-info/rideshare-information and discuss the details of it here: https://uberpeople.net/threads/dmv-issues-rules-for-nyc-suburbs-upstate-ny.173928/

Service Animals

New York State Law described and discussed at https://uberpeople.net/threads/service-dogs-other-service-animals.205934/

Child & Booster Seats

New York State Law described and discussed at https://uberpeople.net/threads/child-safety-seat-laws.206224/

Long Trips

Uber won't cap the max payment, but will cut off a trip after 4 hours. Lyft has $500 maximum for NYS pickups, and you can read more here: https://help.lyft.com/hc/en-us/articles/115009556807-New-York-State-Driver-Information
 
Last edited:
Top