Uber Drivers Forum banner

AC went out

1K views 12 replies 8 participants last post by  don3rd1981 
#1 ·
So my AC went out yesterday, it seems to me like it would be a death sentence to my account to try to do Uber without any AC, especially when you consider I'm in Florida. I already have people who have a tendency to give me a 3 or 4 rating even though I'm a very safe driver. Will hold conversation when riders want to but can read people well enough to know when they don't want to talk. Also keep a very clean car inside and out. I think we can thank Yelp for this mind set.

I know there are plenty on here that has been doing this for a while so I wanted to get some seasoned drivers opinions. Am I right to assume that trying to rideshare without AC would be a great way to get myself deactivated within days from bad ratings?

#2 ·
I had a pax today who would have loved you. Asked me to turn my AC off completely, which of course I wasn’t doing. I’m sure I got a 1 star to match the 1 star I gave him after he then put my window down. (Like dude, I turned the AC all the way down and you’re in the back seat. Its 91+ out...)

#5 ·
I actually tried this but it didn't work. Tried changing out the part I suspected the issue was with and that didn't work. My roommate's boss told him that sometimes when the refridgerant hasn't been evacuated and refilled after a long time that it can get dirty and clog the system. The car has over 145k miles on it and since the last 3 years I've had it I haven't done anything with the air so I'm really hoping that's the problem.

#6 ·
In Florida I gotta imagine AC is mandatory I couldn't imagine driving around no ac

So you said your ac doesn't work but does the blower fan still work normally ?
Does it get cold at all or nothing ?