A Little Terrified (moving to NYC)

Inshur

IndigoSunflower

Good Morning,

My name is Indi and I'm currently an Uber/Lyft driver in Las Vegas, NV. I'm starting a new life in New York City (Williamsburg), and, in short, I'm scared to death.

Is there anyone that would be willing to befriend me and teach me the roads of NYC with Uber/Lyft? I've heard that Lyft is better, honestly. Someone who would be willing to befriend and train me out there would be greatly appreciated. I'd absolutely use your referral code.

I currently drive a Ford Fusion 2010 Hybrid (white).

Thank you so much!
Indi

Slow Joe

Driving is driving. I'm not sure what benefit you'd derive from "training". You'd have to learn the art of driving in Manhattan, but that only comes from experience. It can't be taught.

One thing you definitely can benefit from learning from an experienced driver is navigating the logistical and bureaucratic nightmare that is the NYC Taxi and Limousine Commission, or as we unaffectionally call it, the TLC. It took me two months to get my TLC license, and I expect it to take another Goddamn month to get my just-bought car a TLC plate.

Hopefully you can avoid some of what I went through. Feel free to inbox me.

BBHMM

Well, you'll be required to apply for your "For Hire Vehicle" license through the TLC before you're allowed to drive in NYC. This license requires you to take a 24 hour course that teaches you map-reading and areas of interest. It should help you with the geography a bit. The only area I'd recommend learning on your own is lower manhattan because the streets can get weird and GPS can get screwy down there (battery park and financial district areas). Familiarize yourself with airports, museums, theaters and stadiums. That should get the ball rolling for you.

Last edited:

BBHMM