• UberPeople.NET - Independent community of rideshare drivers. It's FREE to be a person and enjoy all the benefits of membership. JOIN US! CLICK HERE

2018 Rideshare Net Profit/Loss

mmn

Just did a 1st cut at my 2018 rideshare financial performance.

Driving Uber and lyft for about a month and a half, on earnings of $2279.21 (tips included), with -$311.90 in deductible expenses and -$2070.58 in mileage, I have a net loss of $103.27.

Awesome!

Anyone else care to share?

mmn

• Thread Starter Thread Starter
If you are taking mileage what are your deductible expenses? Haven't done mine yet but expect a slight profit.
Products, services, and other expenses used in conducting your business.

I'm not a tax pro so can't advise you on specifics.

JC17

If you are taking mileage what are your deductible expenses? Haven't done mine yet but expect a slight profit.
Turbo tax has a section in addition to mileage which includes cell phone bill refreshments a portion of insurerence cell phone chargers just a few off the top of my head according to turbo tax made 1200 last year only drove 7000 miles

FLKeys

I turned a profit using Standard Mileage for all miles truly driven and the deductions I can legally take.
My Mileage deduction is $7,818.57 - Tolls $102.95 - Misc deductions $772.58. That was basically 6 months of driving.

If you bought anything for rideshare only it is 100% deductible. Like I bough some cheap barf bags, a multi device car charger, emergency cleaning supplies etc. Items that you bought for the vehicle to enhance your passenger experience and or save your vehicle from wear are deductible based on percent of vehicle use. XM Radio, Car seat covers, floor mats, and if you have an auto loan interest paid.

Merc7186

I will say that the more 'business expenses' that you claim on top of your mileage, the most likely you are to be audited.

...and Yes, I am an accountant.

AlteredBeast