1. UberPeople.NET - Independent community of rideshare drivers. It's FREE to be a person and enjoy all the benefits of membership. Sign-up HERE!

Taxes- What % of earnings do you save?

Discussion in 'Boston' started by Daniel Shore, Jan 11, 2017.

1. Daniel Shore

Daniel Shore New Member

So I'm just getting started at this, doing it on a very limited basis (10 hrs/week). I know as a contractor, you are required to file a 1099 and pay back taxes at year end. What percentage of your weekly earnings are you saving so you're not screwed at the end of the year? Thanks.

2. MaineMasai

MaineMasai Member

3. UStaxman

UStaxman Member

Driving:
    UberX
    0%---- Most lose money (on paper) or break even if lucky
    On average we drive 1 dead mile (empty) traveling to and back from a fare for each paid mile.
    We earn on average $1.00 mile (net). Mileage deduction= $1.12 for every dollar earned (.56/ mile x 2). Cash flow profit is on average .40 cents on each dollar earned (factored using a $13K used midsize sedan). Most part time drivers last less than 6 months so I wouldn't worry about setting aside for taxes as much as I would worry about setting aside $$ for car repairs.

ReydiNapoli, driver5494 and kfeels like this.
  4. Golfermack

Golfermack Well-Known Member

Driving:
    UberX
    How can you afford to save anything? Can you pay your bills working 10 hours/week for Uber?

5. jjbos

jjbos Member

What is savings?

Dannyboss likes this.

6. Beur

Beur Well-Known Member

0% my expenses are always hire than my earnings.

7. driver5494

driver5494 Well-Known Member

what are earnings?

8. LAuberX

LAuberX Moderator Moderator

Driving:
    UberX
    I save nothing for taxes.

Log your miles. write down your odometer reading at the start and end of every Uber shift.

dead miles and miles with a paying passenger are all business miles on your tax return, use the IRS "standard" deduction.