1. UberPeople.NET - Independent community of rideshare drivers. It's FREE to be a person and enjoy all the benefits of membership. Sign-up HERE!

Never filed taxes before, any help is appreciated.

Discussion in 'Taxes' started by UberATLDriver, Jan 10, 2017 at 5:04 PM.

1. UberATLDriver

UberATLDriver New Member

I tried driving for uber after I graduated college and decided to keep going while applying to companies near me. 6 months later I'm still driving for uber. In college I was working for cash under the table at my uncle in law's farm since high school but the agreement was that I have to stop working there once I was out of college so here I am. Basically I've never had to file taxes and any help is appreciated. I've been tracking down my miles since I started by recording my odometer when I start/stop work in a logbook, kept my gas, oil, and car wash receipts. I was planning on only deducting standard mileage. I am just unfamilliar with the process because I've never done it before so I don't know where to begin.

I am just clueless about what form I fill out and send to the irs, where I can find out how much I owe, and extremely basic stuff like that. Any help is appreciated and thanks for not trolling me to to end.

UberTaxPro likes this.
  2. UberTaxPro

UberTaxPro Well-Known Member

Driving:
    UberX
    This is what you'll use to report your business income and expenses. https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/f1040sc.pdf
    You should also familiarize yourself with this form https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/f1040sse.pdf

njn and UberATLDriver like this.
  3. UberATLDriver

UberATLDriver New Member

4. Older Chauffeur

Older Chauffeur Well-Known Member