Uber Drivers Forum banner

Looking for a new car..

5K views 41 replies 21 participants last post by  Engz 
#1 ·
So I've been driving for a few months. I really enjoy it.. It's been a fun side gig. I have been driving two cars. A Chevy Cruze and a Chev Suburban.. For the most part, I've just been driving weekend nights and special events. My Suburban qualifies for uberSelect, and I have found that driving select on the weekends is a very profitable venture. The past few Saturday nights, I've cleared $50 per hour. Select is really slow during the week however, so if I go out during the week, I'm driving my Cruze. UberX rides are just not worth the time or gas money in the burb. This week, I started a new job that is near the airport. I've been going online in the morning and getting rides to the airport then going to work and then picking someone up at the airport after work for the ride home. Gives me a passenger for the carpool lane and someone else pays me for my commute..

The lease on my Cruze is up in November. I've been trying to decide on what to do going forward. I've settled on going for a low-end luxury car that qualifies for Select. So, I can still do X airport drives to and from work, and then on the weekend grab those high paying select customers. I should be more than able to cover my payment and insurance with the weekday rides, and then everything I do on the weekend is just gravy. I've been looking at either a Cadillac ATS sedan or an Audi A4. Any thoughts on the two? I'm leaning towards the ATS.

The new model year on the ATS is just coming out, so they are starting to discount the 2016 models. Which brings me to my next question.. Car age..
  • Model Year: Must be 3 years or less from current year
Does this mean that since the 2017s are coming out, that uber is phasing out the 2014s? or are they phasing out cars that are older than 2014? My suburban is a 2012 and as soon as the 2017s come out, I think that it will get phased out of select.