1. UberPeople.NET - Independent community of rideshare drivers. It's FREE to be a person and enjoy all the benefits of membership. Sign-up HERE!

How do taxi drivers keep their license?

Discussion in 'Sydney' started by fields, Jan 12, 2017 at 2:32 AM.

1. fields

fields Well-Known Member

Ok, taxi drivers arent the worst drivers on the road. That dubious honour goes to tradies in utes. But they are the second worst drivers on our roads.

How do these people keep their licenses? They are on the road 12 hours a day for 5-6 days a week and spend their entire day running red lights and changing lanes without indicating. Every day I am on the road there are taxis nearly running into me. They would run into me if I did not take evasive action. And don't even think about tooting your horn at them. Because if you do they go insane.

As a fulltime Uber driver I drive very conservatively as I cannot afford to get even one ticket yet taxi drivers drive like they are in a world of their own. Yet no-one does anything about it, its like they are above the law. A bit like bus drivers who seemingly can break every road rule known to mankind but still expect you to give way to them.

At least the worst drivers on roads, tradies in utes, do get pulled up all the time by police. Not so taxi drivers, they seemingly can get away with anything.

Last edited: Jan 12, 2017 at 3:00 AM
  2. Terrychris

Terrychris Active Member

Its only been about 2 years now that NSW Taxi drivers have been required to wear selt belts.
    It seems Sydney Taxi Drivers can get away with pratically anything i agree.

Stopping in No Stopping ,even completely stopping on Main Roads and blocking traffic whilst pasengers get in and I once saw a Police car go around a Taxi on Oxford Street doing this .

I guess Police turn a blind eye in the majority of cases I dont know why, maybe they think the Taxi drivers are argumentative or something?